How Does One Stay True to Themselves?

5 Masks by Joseph Michael Linsner

Topic: 272 Posted by “The Daily Post“:

I feel part of the answer to, “How do you discover who your true self “ lies in how you were raised, what is important to you, your moral, codes, ethics and what you KNOW you are not and what you do NOT agree with. Our environment, friends, and family shape us early on in life as does eventually society as we get older. We are taught what “Society” feels we should believe is “Beautiful” or “Acceptable” in life. We are taught things such as “Sex sells” and that we can’t be “Fat” we should try to be “skinny” like Barbie, or “It’s not okay to cry, you’re a boy, so SUCK IT UP”.

DAWN: Three Graces by Joseph Michael Linsner

In being true to oneself you have to go BEYOND what society teaches and accept that not everything that Society or your Environment tells or teaches you is right. That’s perfectly OKAY! At the end of the day, you must decide what “resonates” or “rings true” for you personally.  You – DON’T have to accept anything ANYONE tells you if it does not ring as “true” for you. This journey however is NOT an easy one – but even if you were to take the easy road, it’s never truly easy and it’s always less satisfying, especially when we don’t learn what we need to out of our lives and the people we meet.

“Cause you’re perfect, The way that you are, Perfect like the moon in the stars, And the sun in the sky, getting higher – Even knows when it’s time to surrender” – Perfect by Markus Schulz

It does not surprise me that so many people are lost and confused as to “Who they truly are” and don’t know how to thine own self be true.

Second, most people have some qualities that they wish they didn’t have, such as jealousy, envy, insecurities or prejudices. Staying true to those things wouldn’t seem to be in our interest.”

Darrien Ashoka Praying in Three Tiers by Joseph Michael Linsner

When it comes to these elements in our lives the best we can do is learn to “ACCEPT” these things as part of ourselves. Not all of us are proud of having these qualities, heck, some of us probably LOATHE when people point them out (or when we realize them ourselves) – except when we ask for their TRUE honesty, but by accepting these FLAWS as a crucial part of “WHO” you are, you’ve already WON half the battle. Making peace within yourself when the world around you is in chaos allows you to remain calm in bad situations, keep a level head, and helps you find your way out of the mess. Part of learning to accept these “Flaws” is to NOT allow them to control you! Even if you do for a brief point of your day, there’s always later or tomorrow. Remember to TRY your BEST everyday! That’s what counts and matters most! That we strive to do our BEST everyday, no matter what it might be.DAWN by Joseph Michael Linsner

What does it mean to you to stay true to yourself? Which part of yourself do you think about?

Correct word in place I can now answer this part of the question.

What does it mean to stay true to myself. It means A LOT. Being true to myself means “Follow my dreams” and “Follow my passion”. It means “NEVER GIVE UP! NEVER SURRENDER!” Being true to myself means honoring who I am, what I believe, my body, my soul, mind, heart, priestess within, country and fellow-man when and where I can. I’ve had to fight my entire life to be who and what I am today, tooth and nail, blood, sweat, and tears against the grain of what society has TRIED to tell me I should “Do” or “Be happy with” or “You need this” when I didn’t and still don’t. I’ve always been a “Trailblazer” and will remain thus so long as Society tries to tell us “You should be this way” when it goes against everything I’ve been raised and have chosen “resonates” with me. I don’t just think about “ONE” aspect alone of myself. I try to examine anything and everything within me, my environment, and society in order to find that which is “Good” that I will keep. That is the way it should be. It’s not an easy fight, like I said – but it beats the heck out of being something I am not and miserable. “It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for something you are not.”

Dawn Comic Cover by Joseph Michael Linsner

Thank you for reading! If you all haven’t figured it out yet, I’m a BIG DAWN fan. 🙂

~Bright blessings, good fortune, love, light, gratitude, and more be yours. Namaste~

Citation: All DAWN artwork rightfully and respectfully belongs to Joseph Michael Linsner

Read about Comics – for providing some of the artwork for my blog from one of their articles on “Three Tiers”.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. think4string
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 07:48:18

    after having read this write (which I enjoyed) I believe the comment this read impressed upon me as more your thought of yourself; the message in this write for you is “I’ve had to fight my entire life to be who and what I am today”. Meaning I believe you are confirming for yourself that you embarked on a big move (which you did) and that whether persons close to you, or the voice of reason within your conscience is being critical of how well you’ve hit the ground running since the move…you are acknowledging with this write, that you know what you want from life, and from yourself, and that is ALL the difference you need satisfy of any critique about where you are in life at the moment.

    Of course…I could be wrong, but I appreciate such a very good read you’ve shared. 🙂

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Oct 10, 2011 @ 08:03:47

      I wasn’t really looking for a psychological analogy into my “psyche” about where I am or who I am. It was more of a matter of I feel people learn better when given an “example” to look to. I lead by example (least I try to, though I’m far from perfect) therefore I used my experiences as a whole to exemplify this for my topic so that perhaps it may help others understand. I’m glad you enjoyed the “read” though. I always try to make my “written word” fun, relatively meaningful, and entertaining to read. Especially when it comes to topics similar to this. But I don’t want to get too much into my personal life in my work unless it pertains a bit more to it than what I’ve written here. Thank you again for the comment.

  2. think4string
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 08:13:15

    It is a good share, and we are all far from perfect. The topic is always of interest, because hopefully, we all strive to become more than what we are. You’ve struck on some universal schools of thought, and explained them in a very understandable context. Please keep sharing, looking forward to more,

  3. Trackback: Beauty, a Gift and a Curse « The Musings of Lady Gwendolynn

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

