Does Technology Help Me Write?

Handwriting

Image by Jamiesrabbits via Flickr

Topic #281 from The Daily Post.

Does technology help me write? That’s a pretty easy question for me to answer, granted in not so many words. Yes; it does. I use a computer largely for most of my writing, although at times I still do use the good old fashion “Pen & Paper” method as well. Not often though do I find myself putting pen to paper unless it is for my “Poetry” writing. Often the stories I write are written on the computer. Why? Because I type MUCH faster than I write! It’s kind of sad when I have all these ideas or words bursting to come out, but my hands can’t seem to keep up with my mind in the least. With a computer I at least stand a chance of keeping up. Granted I still make mistakes whether on paper or on the computer regardless, but it helps me keep my pace, stay in the zone and stay caught up with my mind.

Lady Gaga at the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards.

Image via Wikipedia

Music is another part of technology I utilize to help get me through my creative slumps or just to help me get through the process of writing in general. If I’m listening to some of my ultra favorite songs, my creativity comes easier and smoother. If I’m listening to music in general for background noise, it doesn’t always help me get through the slump. I think it’s KEY to listen to music you REALLY enjoy in order to get through the creative slumps or even writing in general. Course you don’t always HAVE to listen to music for these reasons, you could also listen to music just because you enjoy having it in the background, much like myself (for instance, during my time composing this I was listening to one of my favorite artists Lady Gaga, some Katy Perry, and others. 🙂 ).

I also tend to utilize “Google” quite a bit, dictionary.com, and a few other sites for research when required.

 

Overall, I definitely use technology to my advantage creatively.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

