Fear + God = Does Not Compute For Me

The Discworld gods as they appear in The Last ...

Image via Wikipedia

I know some people are of the mind-set you should “FEAR” god. For in “FearingGod you respect “God”, but to me “Fear” is so FAR apart from actual “Respect” that I can’t wrap my head around this concept. I’ve never been able to fully grasp why anyone would wish to dedicate their lives to a God or Goddess they “Fear”. I suppose part of it comes from the idea that “God” or “The Creator” is “All powerful” or to quote Genie from Aladdin, “Phenomenal Cosmic Powers! Itty bitty living space“, but in being “All Powerful” that means that supposedly the creator has far more power than us and WE acknowledge that. In doing so, we in a way, give up part of the “Divine Powers” within us. I’ll explain a little more about that as you read on (not too in-depth, but there will be subtle discussion and I will be doing a topic about it even later on. So have no fear! If you have questions though afterword please feel free to ask though. It will help contribute to the next posting if anything).

As I said from the start, I don’t see how the two concepts “God” and “Fear” can coexist peacefully in a truly “Faithful” order that is honestly dedicated to their beliefs. Why? Because to me, if we were created in “Gods” image that means there has to be MORE to GOD than just “Fear” that we can dedicate our lives to if we so desire. God also gave us “Free-will” and is NEVER going to take that back so we can choose to “serve” or “dedicate” our lives to “Spirit” in some form if we so choose, that doesn’t have to be just out of “Fear”. There can be other reasons.

Goddess

Image by junibears via Flickr

When I was on my quest to find my path I know that I desired a “God” or “Goddess” to love me for who I was. If I was made in the image of my creator than surely their must be a “Higher Power” that would show me the love and respect I required and that they desired in return. I would call it a “Chance Meeting” but nothing to me is purely “Chance” and I don’t believe in coincidences (there’s a reason for that), but I met my first teacher and the rest is history. I found my true calling in my ancestry and I’ve been following that same path since, under my own personal studies, letting my ancestors guide me as well as, Gods (Father God), Goddesses (Mother God), my intuition, and the good and kindly Spirits who have chosen to help me along my path. When I spoke to my Gods, I felt the unconditional love of the universe ring true within myself. At my very core I just KNEW (we call this faith or claircognizance) I had found what I had been looking for all along – it was just right under my nose the whole time and in a way, I didn’t want to admit it because I didn’t think I could.

Goddess: Saga (Norse)

Image by quirkybird via Flickr

My relationship with my Gods and the Good and Kindly Spirits I work with is out of kindness, respect, compassion, unconditional love and far more than I can put into words. Sometimes I do get mad and I’ll curse my frustrations at them and while this may sound weird to some – I know they are simply smiling and saying, “Go ahead and let it out. We still love you regardless,” because they see beyond the flesh and blood that we are. They see into your “true authentic self” that is buried under all the bad or whatever may be blocking the view. They can see what we cannot as human beings. Part of what they see is the “Divine Spark” that is within each and every one of us and in a way, that in itself is neutral and yet purely beautiful, it is life and creation and again – far more than I could imagine, understand or describe properly in our language, but I can try my best to do so.

My choice has been made – I choose to serve my “Lord” and “Lady” or “Spirit” out of “Unconditional Love and Respect” and I feel this “returned“. I believe “All paths lead to Spirit” and “Spirit” isn’t just looking to “Control” you out of “Fear“. That “Spirit” can also be unconditional love and respect. I believe “Spirit”, in a way, is what you MAKE or FEEL them/it to be. It’s just a matter of perspective, intuition, and faith. Remember, just because you “FEAR” someone doesn’t mean you “Respect” their power or their authority. You can also very well “loath” or “hate” them and in my philosophy of life that is no bueno and never bodes well for a positive relationship between any individual or being. Again, that’s my philosophy.

Thank you for reading!

~Blessings, love, and gratitude, Namaste~

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. think4string
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 01:56:40

    This is a very good share. There are those who may say differently, which is completely fine, each and every one of us is entitled to our own perception of Elohim and the how we may serve to honor them. I find most appealing that you opened yourself up and expressed your views rather selflessly. One of the endearments of your writing I continue to find is that there is such a childlike openness in your perspective, which you are able to articulate with your own unique brand of experience and wisdom which you endeavor perpetually in becoming the life and spirit of your conscience.

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Oct 20, 2011 @ 20:55:30

      Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed it. Part of my life’s philosophy has always been, the only limitations we have are ourselves. If we limit the way we think and believe then there is limitation – by trying to look beyond the box we can do far more than we could ever imagine. Sometimes I wonder how I tend to keep the child-like curiosity and intrigue that I do. I’m not entirely sure myself.

  2. Trackback: We are Shards of the One « The Musings of Lady Gwendolynn

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

