Where is the most relaxing place in my world?

Nature

Image by doug88888 via Flickr

There really isn’t just one place I find relaxing. There tends to be more than one given the right circumstances. Sometimes it is home. Sometimes I find relaxation in meditation. Other times I might just find it in “Nature” which I consider part of my “Temple”. When I’m at home, like I am now, my backyard and our lower lot are two of my favorite places to wander. The energy feels wonderful and the air is so pure and clean. At night I can see the stars very clearly. It’s a decent small town if you can handle the lack of employment, but it is my home and I still love it regardless.

Anyone else care to share where their favorite place (s) to relax are?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. think4string
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 19:46:07

    Well, my MOST consistent relaxing place without a doubt would be any body of water. I grew up within 2 miles of Lake Michigan, and some of the noted locations were Calumet Park, in South Chicago, IL and the Lakefront Park in my hometown East Chicago, IN. We also spent quite a bit of time at Wolf Lake in Hammond, IN…and the reason I mention water, is because it IS the ONLY place where my mind is truly at rest. I can clear my mind, and really, truly have NO thought other than relaxing in the water. As a kid, I used to spin underwater vertically and horizontally, however the water carried me.

    Over the years, I have spent less time in water, and the places I find some ‘escape’ are local Parks and my kitchen. I can really relax in the kitchen, and be creative when I am preparing food, and it is comforting to me because I can focus on ONE thing – cooking. I also pick up my guitar and sing, or my bass and let my emotion carry itself through the instrument.

    My mind wanders constantly, I read and my mind also does grocery lists or checklists of things to do at the same time, somehow I remember what I read, but it is somewhat aggravating that my mind is so hard to relax from thought.

    So…I miss the water, but I have improvised some other escapes in the meantime =)

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Oct 29, 2011 @ 20:04:47

      I didn’t realize how relaxing a “swim” could be till I was living in Florida. I had a LOT of stress trying to the “Stone” of my living situation. It was difficult – but when I swam it was like all of a sudden – my mind stopped racing at a thousand thoughts per minute. I could relax and FOCUS on one thing at a time. Most of what I did focus on was how could I help myself or my living situation. I could I make it work better. Sometimes I’d think of some of the age old questions as well that we often ask as human beings. lol

      I’ve no idea how I missed this! But it did get approved, however I swear I don’t remember doing it! How bizarre!

  2. think4string
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 20:24:39

    it was not here last night, and I was surprised to see that I had missed it yesterday…which made the read all the more enjoyable…glad this one was not lost =)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

