NaNoWriMo Day 11 – Honoring Veteran’s Day & Writing

Veterans

Image by KennethMoyle via Flickr

Again I got off to a late start writing, why? Because if anyone realized what today is they would know it is Veteran‘s Day. Not being a Veteran myself but knowing plenty I felt the desire to express my feelings about this day, what it means to me, and to honor those who have served our country. So I did. Unfortunately that cut a good chunk into my regular writing time – or rather into the EARLY part of the time I wanted to start. Despite how bad I’ve been sleeping I definitely feel I should be getting up earlier. I think it would definitely help with my Physical and Mental distractions that keep hounding me every time I’m trying to work on my novel. For the record, this isn’t as simple as fix as you think it is where a simple “breathing” exercise might fix it. Nope! Far more complicated than that I’m afraid.

So every time I sit down to write it feels almost like “torture”. I love writing and I DESIRE to get this done more than anything but with these factors nagging at me it makes it feel all the more like a struggle. The good news? I typed up 2,584 words today and that’s counting last night as well. 🙂 I actually managed to get around to writing last night. I was very happy I was finally able to. I realize in very few chapters the plot really begins to thicken and come together and I’m not so sure that’s a good thing or a bad thing? I think it’s good in some respects because the reader should be hooked by now if they’ve gotten this far into the story – bad because – well – it might be a short novel? But then again the words to book format tend to change dramatically depending upon the size of the Paperback or hardbound copy. Heck there may yet still be section I could easily turn into new chapters but I just can’t see it now. I won’t know till the book is done, edited and probably considered for publication.

Painting The Writing Master by Thomas Eakins

Image via Wikipedia

Anyway, that’s all I have to report tonight. I’m off to hopefully play some CoH for an hour or two and THEN go to bed – I’m going to try to knuckle down my hardest tomorrow – avoiding all regular distractions in order to finally get my head-start like I’ve been wanting. 😛 Peace!

~Love, light, blessings and more be yours, Namaste~

P.S. I have pictures of my furry little troopers who are sticking NaNoWriMo out with me this year.

Awww! He's so cute!

This is my writing buddy Loki. So named for he causes the MOST trouble of his other two brothers. But he’s SOOO cute and FLUFFY, “I’M GONNA DIE!” lol He’s a sweetie when he wants to be and I love him.

He's my little basket case, can you tell?

This is Amadan he’s my other little Trooper – also appropriately named. He’s the one who causes the second to least trouble. My NaNo buddies. 🙂

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

