Law of Attraction and the Role it Plays

Esther Hicks

Image via Wikipedia

As the title states, today we are talking about the importance of the “Law of Attraction” in our lives. No; I’m not talking about “Romantic” or “Sexual” attraction. No; I’m talking about what we draw to ourselves by what we say, feel, and think. Now I’m not the first to come up with this “Law” of sorts. First time I really knew much about this law was when I listened to a “Books on CD” called The Law of Attraction by Esther and Jerry Hicks. However, I wasn’t a total stranger to the concept of this “law” just when I was a kid – there wasn’t a name for it and I had to figure it out slowly by myself in some cases. Today is about the long and the short of it. I’m not going into a lengthy explanation. If you want that – read the book or get the audio CD.

First of all, what is the “Law of Attraction” and what role does it play into our daily lives?

That’s an incredibly good question. It’s what we draw to ourselves based on what we say, think, and feel. Several examples of the “Law” come to mind when I think back to my childhood. I recall one day when I got off the bus, standing there and staring at the bus as it passed me and feeling incredible ill will toward the person who was my bully at the time (they also road the same bus mind you). However, I remember also getting a pretty bad headache after a moment and simply letting it go, telling Spirit I’d take better care with my thoughts and feelings next time and try to ‘learn’ to love my enemies. Which I did.

Other times when I felt ill feelings like this I actually remember stepping on a rake – and just like the cartoon characters – I got beamed in the face with it. Ouch! It sucked and I KNOW you’re all laughing now. Sad part is I had seen the rake earlier and I didn’t think to move the thing. I divinely set myself up for THAT one.

Basketballs ondisplay2 lithuania

Image via Wikipedia

A good third example, while embarrassing but incredibly helpful, is the fact when I was young – I had a fear of getting hit my balls. GET YOUR MINDS OUTTA THE GUTTER! I mean like balls we actually use in SPORTS! Footballs, Soccer Balls, Basketballs, Baseballs that kind of thing. Well sadly enough I often ‘attracted’ them because of my ‘fear’ of them. Universe said, “Oh! You don’t want them which means you do!” so, Voi la! I can tell you that year alone in the 3rd grade I got the ‘Wind’ knocked out of me at least 2-3 times by a Soccer Ball getting me in the gut. I got beamed TWICE in the eye. Once with a Nerf Soccer Ball (they might be squishy, but they still hurt like hell at high speeds careening at your FACE) and a flat Basketball someone decided to kick in my direction.

Where did this fear come from? Honestly, I don’t know. I didn’t have any bad initial experience with balls that made me fear them. I think it was just because I was afraid what other people or kids might do with them. When I was young, I was very shy and distrusting of others. That might have something to do with it.

In any case you can see a bit how “Law of Attraction” works. If you fear something Spirit manifests it until you have a change of heart or change in perspective. That whole fear of “Balls” thing eventually left me because I let that ‘fear’ go. When I did – I noticed I didn’t get hit anymore…except in Dodge-ball –  which I had a love hate relationship with (wasn’t fair the guys could throw the balls so darn fast and hard). I noticed every time I let go of something that ultimately hurt or hinderedmy ‘Psyche’ usually had a positive result.

The Fear (The Twilight Zone)

Image via Wikipedia

So say you had a ‘fear’ of something else like “Fear of Conflict”. Guess what? Spirit is going to find a way to put every bit of “conflict” in your way until you learn to either – one – come to terms that conflict is unavoidable no matter WHAT you do or how much you try to avoid it and let it go. Maybe work a way to make “peace” within yourself in regards to it, come to a mutual understanding in your Psyche. I know I’m not a big fan of “conflict” but this is the understanding I have. Or two – you can keep trying to “runaway” to no avail, but until you make peace with it – you’ll just keep attracting it and running away isn’t going to change that in the least.

Fear not though! The Law of Attraction works BOTH ways. You can also attract good things in your life as well. Just let Universe know what it is you desire – than let it go and forget it. A good example that comes to mind is – say you want better friends? “I desire to draw in honest and truly good friendly people into my life. Thank you.” That’s usually how I word my requests and I’ve noticed more often than not – I get what I requested. However, with that being said – it doesn’t work for everything all the time (The lottery for instance. That’s personal gain people) and some things may take hard work on YOUR part to accomplish.

Thus concludes our brief discussion of the “Law of Attraction”. I hope that some of you have learned something today and if you are interested in reading up and learning more about this law you will further research it for yourselves. Thank you for reading and I hope you got a few laughs if not a few smiles from this!

~Blessed be, for the highest and greatest good of all – with harm to none~

Whatever you hold in your mind will tend to occur in your life. If you continue to believe as you have always believed, you will continue to act as you have always acted. If you continue to act as you have always acted, you will continue to get what you have always gotten. If you want different results in your life or your work, all you have to do is change your mind.” – As posted by the Paradigm Shift Fan-page on Facebook.

 

Check out the official website for Jerry and Esther Hicks:

The Law of Attraction

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cgregory
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 13:08:01

    Love, love, LOVE Jerry and Esther! Yes, I speak of Jerry in present tense. As Abraham says, “we’re as dead as it gets.” Thank you for posting this. You made my day.

  2. Trackback: Fear, the final frontier | My Chronic Life
  3. Trackback: Ask and it is Given Esther and Jerry Hicks | Professional Book Reviews

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

