Crying – A Natural Detox

Crying Freeman

Crying Freeman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have often heard remark from people saying how Crying is a useless emotional mechanism. “Why do we do it?! It serves no purpose!” Well I’m here to say, that’s not true. That is SO far from the truth it’s not even funny. You don’t have to take my word on this, but everything I am going to share about Crying is in FACT true for at least myself – maybe even others.

It is not just merely an emotional expression of how we feel. Crying if you can believe it or not can help to alleviate Dis-ease (not to be confused with “Disease“), helps to purge negative energy and helps us to release that which no longer serves us in the body. It is true it is also excellent for expressing feelings of anger (yes; it can), grief, sorrow, pain, joy, sadness and more, however we are talking about its medicinal purposes today.

Cry Baby

Cry Baby (Photo credit: Jan Tik)

In one instance where Crying has greatly helped me, I was in a rather volatile situation. I wasn’t the one who was angry or producing a truck-load of negative energy, but in the house I was a guest in the Hostess was exceptionally angry and venting it outward. It was affecting me so badly I didn’t feel sick – but I was close enough. At some point it just became so unbearable I had to cry. When I finished I felt completely relieved.

Another instance where Crying has been beneficial is that is has aided in keeping my Anger in check. I know that sounds odd. When I was a kid I had difficulty controlling my temper. Often times when others were picking on me I wanted to throw a punch or do something physically hurtful to others. In order to control myself I contained my hurt, anger, rage and pain inside myself, balling my hands into fists at my sides all while getting teased as being a “Cry Baby“. If only they knew how THISCry Baby” stopped themselves from giving them a bloody nose or worse. I think they’d have changed their tune. The Crying was the only other method of release I could experience at the time without doing harm to others. It allowed me to stay “In-control” of my emotions.

These are a few of the best examples I can think of where Crying has been MY Detox.

Do you have any experiences that you can share where you felt Crying has been your Detox for the situation you were in and why?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natalienm
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 12:31:23

    Agreed. Crying is therapeutic and can be an excellent healthy release of emotion.
    Thanks for the link to my blog!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

