Not Everything Is so Black & White, There is Grey

Shaiya, Goddess of Light and Goddess of Shadow

In these last few months I have come to understand and met people who see the world from a very “Black and White” perspective. For those unfamiliar with a perspective like this, it means, someone who sees good and bad only or what is perceived Good and Evil only, with no leeway for anything in between.

So if you screw-up with a friend who has this type of perspective, chances are they are going to kick you to the curb or like a bad habit quicker than you can say, “I’m sorry” and sincerely mean it. These individuals most likely may even be the sort to easily hold grudges (I can attest to the fact this is true of both people I knew).

The wondrous and yet sad part is, the world is far from being so one-way or another. It is more than just “Black” and “White“. It is many shades of “Grey” as well. Nothing is ever as it seems and yet sometimes it can be exactly that. It all depends upon the person as we are ALL just as capable of Good, Evil, or walking “The Silver Line“.

Someone I knew and still do, taught me the phrase, “The Silver Line” for they believed they were a true example of someone who “toe-ed” that very line. However, as they spoke more about this “Silver Line” it seemed more and more to me that to them, walking The Silver Line was about being indecisive and not taking sides. However, I did not feel that was truly right. I felt if one were truly an example of “Walking the Silver Line” it meant they strove for inner peace and balance.

A Balance of Light and Shadow? Of Good and Evil?

Now I hate to sound like an old, cliché, corny crone but I feel one major problem with society these days is people often tend to forget or blatantly ignore the fact their world is not as cold and Black and White as they may think it is. I am no better than you, than you are no better than me. Granted you may be more “skilled” (or I might) or otherwise at certain aspects than I, but that does not make you my better as a whole.

If anything – we should be able to acknowledge we are equals above all else. Just like “Namaste” is about acknowledging the “Divine within” and greeting it within another with a sense of unconditional love and respect. I feel many people today are just so out of touch with this aspect of their lives or out of balance. I have seen many people stray too far to one extreme vs. another. Your Spiritual aspect should not be neglected, otherwise it, in a way, stunts your personal growth as a human being (and I’m planning to go more into this in another topic later, keep your eyes peeled).

Balance within ourselves, as I said, is important – but often our Ego won’t let us see the Good, the Bad and the Ugly of who we are. Especially if we are in deep denial about it. We often only wish to see the “Good” of ourselves and there isn’t anything wrong with that, except when it blinds you to the point others we love get hurt by it or it ultimately hurts ourselves.

In Balance we seek to bridge the gap between our “Good” or “Higher Self” and that of our “Ego” or “Evil” aspects of ourselves. Our “Shadow Self” is not always as terrible as we may tell ourselves or hype them to be through our own imagination. Sometimes it is about acknowledging Strengths and Weaknesses, sometimes turning Weaknesses into Strengths.

A reflection of Self?

Example: If you are a naturally a sensual and sexual person, embrace that. Don’t hide. Don’t deny it. It’s okay. It’s okay to accept that about YOU. Don’t let religion or anyone else tell you otherwise. If it is a truth about your being, love it and accept it. That doesn’t mean you are a Prostitute or a Harlot. It simply means, when you decide to be intimate with another, you are gonna do your best to blow their mind in every way possible and you know how to please yourself (or what you like possibly). It means a sexual relationship between you and someone you care for is important to you. Nothing wrong with that, so long as it is not the only dominating/deciding factor in everything.

Balance can also help to teach you restraint as I said. If you can find balance with both aspects of yourself it opens the door for learning many other things that can and will benefit you.

I’d like to touch base on a comic book character that I’ve drawn much inspiration and strength from as a woman. Now there are others such as Catwoman, Black Cat, Black Widow, Poison Ivy and others that I do admire for various reasons, but the one I have chosen truly demonstrates Acceptance and Balance in a character. This character is Joseph Michael Linsner‘s “DAWN“.

Dawn is a wonderful character for teaching a woman about her own personal strengths and weaknesses. She teaches about embracing all that you are and more, the good and the bad, because she is neither evil or truly good. But I like to think overall, she is a Hero or a “Kind Lady” at her core essence. She helps her lover “The Horned God” find his way back to himself and discovering who he is, Good and Bad and helps him to find and achieve some balance and truly knowing himself. I think this is most beautiful about their relationship. Dawn, despite being a Fertility Goddess (as she mentions), is comfortable and confident in her sexuality and I also admire this about her.

Not everyone who reads the DAWN comics truly understands when they read them the life lessons and messages that are there. I know at times for some it can be difficult and seem a little confusing, because you are just thrown right into this future post-apocalyptic New York City. But when you read the three Graphic Novels together, it starts to make more sense. I also think the more times you read them, the more new things you will learn.

I truly see myself in DAWN and DAWN in me, much like my Goddess who I follow and give my unconditional love and respect to. I think that is truly amazing to feel such a deep and profound connection with simply a Comic Character, but like Dawn says, she goes by many names. Maybe some see their Goddess like Dawn, but mine looks very different, in some respects. Still, I can draw much from knowing this comic character and letting her be a positive influence in my life. That is the kind of thing I draw strength from.

Another character I love as an example of Balance, though male in this case, is Dante from Devil May Cry. Dante is sarcastic, perhaps a little hard-nosed, sometimes cold, distant, confidant/seemingly cocky, has his personal ‘Demons‘ and ‘issues‘ he has to work through (who doesn’t though) and  comes off a little selfish and greedy. What I see in Dante though is something more. There is Balance beneath that sarcastically cold exterior.

I see beyond the surface to who he is at his core and I feel who he is truly in all honesty – is a big-hearted softy, a Teddy Bear. I think he cares more than he let’s on, but he tries to distance himself from others trying to think of their well-being and his own. Though he often still seems to struggle with what he is, he makes the most and best of it. His ‘Demons‘ are both literal and metaphorical. Sadly he may only ever know peace in death. While he is alive, he will do what little good he can. So he continues to ‘feed‘ the ‘Wolf‘ that is ‘Good‘ within him – and can’t neglect taking care of himself so charging a price for his services is fair.

To wrap things up, I’m going to share the long version of that old Cherokee Legend about “Two Wolves” or “Grandfather Tells” (compliments of Cherokee Legend):

An old Grandfather said to his grandson, who came to him with anger at a friend who had done him an injustice, “Let me tell you a story.

I too, at times, have felt a great hate for those that have taken so much, with no sorrow for what they do.

But hate wears you down, and does not hurt your enemy. It is like taking poison and wishing your enemy would die. I have struggled with these feelings many times.” He continued, “It is as if there are two wolves inside me. One is good and does no harm. He lives in harmony with all around him, and does not take offense when no offense was intended. He will only fight when it is right to do so, and in the right way.

But the other wolf, ah! He is full of anger. The littlest thing will set him into a fit of temper. He fights everyone, all the time, for no reason. He cannot think because his anger and hate are so great. It is helpless anger,for his anger will change nothing.

Sometimes, it is hard to live with these two wolves inside me, for both of them try to dominate my spirit.”

The boy looked intently into his Grandfather’s eyes and asked, “Which one wins, Grandfather?”

The Grandfather smiled and quietly said, “The one I feed.”

Thank you for reading and I hope it was insightful, inspiring and got your thoughts going, if just a little. Thank you.

~Love, light and gratitude, Namaste~

Credit for Art in this blog goes to its respective owners, some of them I know (Joseph Michael Linsner) and others (Shaiya an MMORPG by Aeria Games, Devil May Cry which belongs to Capcom or Ninja Theory, possibly both – and others) I wish I could remember the names of to give credit where it is due. None of the artwork is mine and I don’t take any credit for it. I’m just sharing in “Art Awareness” and feeding my own inner Geek-dom. Thank you.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

