Local Hidden Treasures – Cove Crystals

Today I’m switching gears once more toward something local of my hometown of Shelton, WA. I also have a special treat planned for the end of this blog. So be sure to check it out.

If you live in Shelton, WA you know that most of the businesses here are “Small Businesses” run, owned and operated by locals who are either 1st generation, 2nd Gen, 3rd Gen or maybe even older. We do also have some of your stereotypical “Chain Businesses” as well in our hometown, one of which in particular helped and killed the local economy (Wal-Mart) to a far extent, along with the Recession (or if you know better “Depression”).

I have always loved Small Businesses because the people tend to be friendlier, nicer, respectful, understanding, human and these are people who most likely live in the area that care and love the area. So when you buy at a local Small Business, you help out the Local Economy and that is awesome. Especially if it’s a beautiful place like Shelton.

One of these Small Businesses that has managed to survive for a good several years is The Cove or Cove Crystals as the name says on their Business Card. Many of us who visit the store refer to it affectionately as The Cove. When I spoke to Linda Glendenning, one of the owners and managers, I asked what made them start a business like this. She said, “It started out as a hobby. So when Elson retired we fell back on my hobby.” This hobby she was referring to was collecting crystals. Thus a business and a dream were born

Elson Baugh, a co-owner and manager of Cove Crystals, does many of the Driftwood sculptures that can be found at the store.

The Cove also organizes many events to be held at their store. When I arrived at the store to take the photos I wanted for my story, they were just cleaning up and putting stuff away from the recent Crystal Show that had come to town all the way from the East Coast. They have one every year around this time. They also have a Psychic and/or Metaphysical Festival as well. They do Drum Circles and Healing Circles on specifically scheduled weekends.

I of course asked Linda if she felt there might be any room or time that I could come in and maybe give some of my Self Enrichment Classes that I used to back in Florida. There was a definite “Yes“. I just have to ask and coordinate with them about it. So you may be hearing about classes I will be offering at The Cove the next you visit. Keep your eyes peeled and ears open.

Now just because they sell Crystals, doesn’t mean they don’t have other kinds of products or merchandise. They have Crystal Essence Sprays, Arch-Angel and Mother Mary Sacred water Essence Sprays, Cards, bookmarks, Crystal Beads, Jewelry, Books, Singing Bowls and way more. Don’t take just my word for it though, check it out yourself, by viewing the SURPRISE! Video! Or visiting the shop in person. You could do that to. Enjoy either way!

Thanks for stopping by and reading my latest article!

~Infinite love and gratitude, blessings and more be yours – Namaste~

Looking for Cove Crystals in Shelton, WA:

510 SE Old Arcadia Rd.

Shelton, WA 98584

Website: http://www.covecrystals.com

Phone: (360) 426-8111

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 17:27:49

    WOW, GWENDOLYNN, I LOVE YOUR ARTICLE AND MOVIE!!!!!!!!! WHAT A SURPRISE. MAKES ME WANT TO VISIT OUR OWN SHOPPE. THANK YOU SOOO MUCH HONEY! IT IS A BEAUTIFUL PRESENTATION . HOPE TO SEE YOU AT THE FAIRE ON THE 27TH OF THIS MONTH. LOVE, LINDA AND ELSON

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Oct 21, 2012 @ 19:18:54

      You are so very welcome. I just knew you both would be surprised by the video. I took so many great photos I just had to find a way to incorporate them all in a simplistic way.

      I’m really glad it gave the impression you’d want to visit the store. That was not only part of the intention but also to show just how much is really there. People needed to understand, it’s not just some small hole in the wall. It’s a quaint and beautiful little “nook” that’s like stepping into a whole other world.

      I hope I will be able to stop by the 27th. That’s the same weekend my Sister is having her Halloween Party, but I should be able to stop by for a visit. Perhaps I should go in costume. If anyone would appreciate that, it would be the kids probably and anyone else who loves this time of year as much as I do. 🙂

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

