P.A.U. 10 – NaNoWriMo Winner! End of an Era and more…

Dark Horse promotional comic cover

Dark Horse promotional comic cover (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Greetins Lads and Lassies!

Tis I, the fearless blogger Gwendolynn back from NaNoWriMo-Space! My Novel is complete! Well – pretty much. There is one more chapter I’d like to add/insert but my muse decided to inspire and run away before I could get proper notes taken and now I’m feeling like I’m up a creek without a paddle BUT – the good news is, the novel “Operation Charlie Bravo” is pretty much done. I’m debating now on printing out a hard-copy for editing when I take my trip up to Vancouver, B.C. in the next couple weeks. My friend I’ll be visiting wants to read it but I’ve been torn to try to keep him from reading it since it is the “Raw” ugly, unedited monster that it is.

So as I was wrapping up my novel City of Heroes, the NCsoft published game, lifespan was drawing to a close. On November 29th and 30th I logged in for last screenshots, information collection and other things. One of my good friends I met through City of Heroes and I went to the place that got him hooked on the game, because he saw the sunset there and thought it was absolutely gorgeous, Siren’s Call. Our timing couldn’t have been better. As the game was down to its last few moments being online, my friend and I watched the sunset in Siren’s Call. It felt very poetic and in a way – heroically epic. What a way to go out. He came into the game because of that Sunset and he went out watching it with a friend. I’d say there’s no better way we could have spent the moment other than maybe being surrounded by a crowd of the friends we made and met in-game.

City Of Heroes: Delta Arietis

City Of Heroes: Delta Arietis (Photo credit: Psycho Al)

I really do hope someone decides to buy up the license for City of Heroes. It was still making plenty of money and many who played it who have now tried games such as Champions Online or DC Universe Online say it’s just not the same. I know it wouldn’t be for me either. I needed a break in all honesty from playing the game and from role-play, but that doesn’t mean I wanted to see City of Heroes go the way of the Dodo. Now it has in favor of a Korea based fighting, violent, gore and sex driven game. Ugh! We have enough of those. I don’t want another copy-cat, bore-fest – thanks.

So, next few months will be editing my novel and figuring out how, who, what to do about publication. As we chatted at the NaNoWriMo Congratulatory Party about our novels and covered even publication, I definitely learned some new things that I hadn’t considered before. In the resources I’ve read, they’ve never mentioned anything about “Binding” which often dictates the size/volume of your novel which will then dictate price. Oai! So apparently Binding is very important. Learn something new everyday as they say. I do kind of wish I had a family member or a very close friend I could look to for shadowing and mentoring me on publication, but I’ll just have to rely on other ways of doing that and getting it done. Wish me luck!

A tanker (foreground) confronts one of the gam...

A tanker (foreground) confronts one of the game’s arch villains, the mad scientist Dr. Vahzilok, in City of Heroes. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well that is all for now. The next few days I’m going to try my best to find time to do a post-a-day or every-other-day. I didn’t get to do my “Off/on” days during NaNoWriMo due to some serious “Writer’s Block” and I’ve slacked off quite badly I know in previous months. Things are better in my personal life now so I don’t feel so “down in the dumps” to have an excuse NOT to write.. I have plenty of new topics in my “Drafts” that should be typed up. So keep your eyes peeled and check your Inboxes. 🙂

If you have any questions, let me know in the comments if not well – Thank you for reading and…

~Merry part and merry meet again, love, light, blessings and more be yours – Namaste~

P.S. For those who played City of Heroes, special note for you, “We are Heroes – this is what we do.” Heroes! What is your Profession?! Hoorawh!

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

