Holiday Cheer – The Downsides of Commercialization of Holidays

christmas 2007

christmas 2007 (Photo credit: paparutzi)

I know I’m not the only one who has noticed but it seems our favorite holidays start earlier and earlier. Sometimes that is grand!  Other times, to be quite frank, it’s getting on my nerves. Seriously. I remember when October rolled around they were already setting up Thanksgiving decorations, which is fine and understandable; they were also doing this the month prior, September, which is ALSO fine and gearing up for Christmas by clearing out the inventory in the Garden Center of the local Wal-mart. Toward around the end, Fall and Christmas were dominating the Halloween scene.

Which vex’ me a bit, but still not a big deal since I knew Thanksgiving was just around the corner and the fall stuff works with Halloween because it’s during our time for final Harvest.

No; my beef is when they play Christmas music in November and it’s before Thanksgiving. I don’t mind AFTER Thanksgiving but you play my holiday cheer music before Thanksgiving, all I want to do is find the Manager and tell them to turn it off and play the radio. I am so SICK and tired of my holidays not having much of a chance to say, “Hi! Hello! It’s me again. How are- HEY!” *holiday 1 gets shoved out by next holiday coming up* “Hello again! Remember me? I’m here too! What have-” *gets shoved out by holiday 3* “How you doin?! Long time no see!”, in short – this is exactly how it feels.

Thanksgiving at the Trolls

Thanksgiving at the Trolls (Photo credit: martha_chapa95)

I want to be able to enjoy my holidays separately, thank you. I like celebrating them separately. I like to do my Christmas-Birthday Wish-list in October if I can, but that doesn’t mean I want to hear Christmas music at the beginning of November or even in October for that matter. To be honest, the fact that retailers are trying to get an early start on some of my favorite holidays is killing my cheer, specifically my “Christmas Cheer“. I know I’d get especially “Giddy” when December 1st would roll around. Not only is December the time for Christmas but it is the month for many other sacred holidays-traditions AND – my birthday.

Cover of "Scrooge"

Cover of Scrooge

So December has always been a pretty special month and held a very special place in my heart (also because it’s most likely to SNOW in December for us Washingtonians, yay!). But the Commercial Industry is starting to seriously suck out my holiday cheer and forcing me to feel a little more “Scrooge-like” and maybe a touch “bitter“. They are all concerned about the money (yeah, yeah, I know it’s their “job” to do that, but still) whereas, people like me, want to think about the reasons for the season, why we have this “good cheer“, what this season represents, the heart-felt traditions and customs and not to mention – the magic(k).

I still want to be my “St. Nickolas’ Wee Elf Lass” of “Holiday Cheer and fun“. I still want to feel like singing a Christmas song is a wonderful thing, but either the Commercial Industry needs to start making some much needed changes in the stores we shop in OR – they risk getting some very angry complaints from people like me. I haven’t done this yet mind you, because I try to be tolerant and try to avoid going into the stores that play the Holiday music too early.

In any case, what are some tips, tricks or suggestions you can make for people like myself who are trying to keep their “Holiday Cheer”. I’d really like to hear some ideas and suggestions from out there in the grand ole web!

Thus concludes our rant of the evening. Thank you for reading and as always…

~Merry part and merry may we meet again, bright blessings – Namaste~

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. echonaut
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 23:40:21

    Sadly, the commercialization of the holidays (not only Christmas, but Thanksgiving as well) seems to be marching inexorably earlier in the year. Because it’s all about that bottom dollar, because our society feels that creating the drive in us to *buy things* is the most important thing.

    I just wish my holidays could be condensed down to those cold nights, sitting in the dark at a table on the top floor of my building — hiding in the glow of the strings of lights dancing across the walls — watching the snow fall across the dark city, with carols playing lightly in the background. ‘Tis all I need; the hussle and bussle of consumerism has no place in my world.

    Great post, by the way. ^____^

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Dec 13, 2012 @ 16:46:40

      Thank you. I also like your idea of spending the holiday. That would be very cool. Sounds like something I’d plan to do. I’m actually hoping it snows again in Vancouver when I’m there so I can go dancing in it. hehe That’s my idea of holiday spirit and fun.

      • echonaut
        Dec 13, 2012 @ 18:52:23

        Haha, yes indeedy. I have very, very fond recollections of spending more than a few winter evenings sitting in the 3rd story of a bookstore, watching the snow fall in the city streets outside. The city has the most amazing lights; perhaps I’m a modern-day pagan, a city-shaman, but I find the city to hold so much energy, so much potential. The snow falls like a blanket, laying that power to rest for a cold winter nap, and that’s when my boots find purchase in her streets, finding comfort in the curtain that falls around me. 🙂

        Merry met, my dear, and I hope the winter finds you well. ^___^

  2. Svartulfr Þorirsson
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 02:06:13

    I have noticed the earlier lap over over holidays, but I just don’t care enough to think on it much. Yule is coming and the only people who care are the heathens and the pagans. I sure would like to see a little more mainstream paganesque (is that even a word? lol) holiday observance but we all know how the mainstream faiths feel about us.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

