What We Want vs. What We Need

Coat of arms of Vancouver

Coat of arms of Vancouver (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello everyone from Vancouver B.C (my current location)! This is going to be an formal-informal blog today. I hope some of you are enjoying the snow up here. I haven’t gotten to throw my snowball yet at my friend. I hope to do that maybe tomorrow if that. It’s very cold though, colder than back home and our winter’s (I heard they got snow as well after I left, poo!), but I’m staying warm, though I almost caught a cold on my 1st day. Thanks be to Spirit I didn’t! Yay! Moving on to today’s topic though, let’s do that. 🙂

I’m not sure if I’ve done this topic already. I think I’ve “Touched Base” on it before, but I don’t think I’ve gone in-depth about it. If I’m wrong though, I got some deleting to do, me thinks, later.

“What we want – is not always what we NEED – and what we NEED is not always what we want.”

I Need You ♥

I Need You ♥ (Photo credit: ✿ SUMAYAH © ²º¹²)

So this quote, what does it mean? Some of you may know exactly what it means. If you do – congratulations! I give you a cookie and a gold star with big hugs! Those who don’t though, allow me to try to shed some light on the meaning found here – We often have lots of “Wants”.

Example: “Man, I want a new car. My old one is just so beat-up and I swear ready to give out.

Example 2: “I want a new job. I hate my current one because my Boss is such a donkey-butt!

Now there are tons more examples, but I’m going to keep the list short. I’m sure you can think of a few more on your own though.

Sometimes, what we “Want” isn’t always what we “need“. It’s often easy to confuse our “Wants” with our “Needs” and our “True heart’s desire“. Just because we say we “Need” something like “I need a new car,” doesn’t mean that’s what Spirit and our Higher-Self feel we truly “need“. Because we all have very basic “Needs” that need to be met. Air to breath, food to eat, Shelter/Clothing (I’d say because if we freeze to death our life will end and sun-burns suck), water, and of course defecation.

When a child sees a toy they want and a parent asks, “Do you need it?” and the child responds, “Yes; I need it!” that’s not true. You and I both know that. They will live if they don’t get it, but that also means they have a strong desire to obtain toy. So begging and pleading may ensue shortly after (maybe a tantrum if you’re unlucky) if they are denied. I’m not saying you should spoil your children by the way. This is just an example.

Needs

Needs (Photo credit: Rickydavid)

If you say, “I wish I were a better person. I want to be a better person,” than there are some “much-needed” changes and sacrifices that you need to be willing to make and if you entreat “Spirit’s” assistance in this matter, Spirit might say, “Are you sure that is what you desire?” If you know for certain it’s something you desire in your heart, than be prepared for some serious changes to be made, because Spirit WILL make way for them (the changes that is). This ties in with another post I made about “Changing YOU vs. OTHERS Changing You“, so you may wish to also read that as well.

Cover

Cover (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Additionally, I have to add in that if you want positive changes to occur in your life – you seriously need to try your best to utilize the “Law of Attraction” or “The Secret” as some also refer to it as (I also did a brief post on this). This means you need to try to change your negative thoughts, to positive ones, change your feelings, to positive ones, visualize what you desire/want (this is a very important key to manifestation), have faith, patience and let the changes manifest in their own time and place. Remember that negative stuff manifests faster than positive ones, but if you maintain a positive outlook, it will manifest that much faster. If you try to hold true to these suggestions and ways of thinking-feeling, you WILL see changes. Believe me.

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”

Now I can’t force you, I’ve said this before – but for emphasis it’s a reminder, to do anything you don’t want to, it’s always your choice, your decision. You always, ALWAYS have the power to change your circumstances or situation if you don’t like it. Just remember though, if you WANT the negative to change, you can’t think of what you DON’T want, that will attract it to you. You have to think about what you DO want. That’s “Law of Attraction“.

A stone statue of Kuan Yin.

A stone statue of Kuan Yin. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Example of Negative Thoughts: “I hate my Job. My coworkers pick on me and my boss is an ass.”

Example of Good Spin on Negative Thought: “I love my job. My coworkers treat me with respect and kindness. My Boss can be a hard person to get along with, but I know they are doing their best as I am doing my best.”

I know this can seem/sound like it’s a flat out “lie” but you have to BELIEVE it’s true. Belief and Faith are SO important in this. Keep saying it to yourself, make it a constant thought in your life and it can/will manifest a different outcome. Just trying this once and expecting “immediate” change is not how this works. Not entirely. Sometimes it can. It just all depends on YOU. You are the most important factor in all this.

I hope this helps some of you and if you’d like some other examples of turning negative thoughts and feelings into positive ones, just leave a comment with the example and I will do my best to come up with something (or someone else might beat me to the punch, who knows). 🙂

You are the most precious gift of all...

(Photo credit: Thai Jasmine)

I hope you enjoyed this blog and should you have any questions or something to add, please feel free to also leave a comment. Thank you for reading!

Also, again, if you want to learn more about the “Law of Attraction” search for the books by the Hick’s and be sure to watch the Documentary called, “The Secret” (or read the book if you’d like) because they have way more awesome examples and things in it. I enjoyed it.

~Infinite love and gratitude, Namaste~

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robert
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 00:17:53

    Snowballs HUH??? BE careful or you may get what you wish for o loveliest of Winter queens.

  2. sanora1
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 06:59:03

    Very good post. I enjoyed it.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

