Give Me That Ole Time Religion

Detail from The School of Athens by Raffaello ...

Detail from The School of Athens by Raffaello Sanzio, maybe an illustration of Hypatia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hey everybody! Gwen here again from beautiful Vancouver BC (Really is too, wish the weather was nice enough for pictures) with another fun and informal posting. Yesterday or the day before my “Man-friend” (like “lady-friend”) had me listen to one of his Podcasts called “British History”. He had me listening to a very special one and it inspired me to write this blog. Sorry for any spelling mistakes and the like typing, I’m typing with an iPads touch screen (keyboard wasn’t charged, typing one-handed, limited unfortunately on typing options).

If by the end of this you can figure out which podcast it was – kudos and brownie points for you, because I’m not telling. 😉

Today’s blog is obviously about “Reconstruction of old religions“. I am willing to tell you I am one of those people doing the same based on study of history, culture, lore & intuition (allowing my ancestors, heart, & soul to guide me). Now I’ve spoken with other Reconstructionists and unfortunately my experiences thus far have all been less than pleasant. In fact I have been insulted spiritually and the few I have met had this rather “Sexist” mentality.

Various different religious traditions have be...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have to say you’re not helping your case or representing your Order or Tradition in the best manner by doing this. Heck, they don’t even give me the benefit of the doubt and “Quiz” me to see what I know. Again, not helping the image any. Course it doesn’t help that everything I have learned or studied has been on my own. No teacher. Only Spirit Guides, Guardians and the other stuff mentioned earlier.

Now this wasn’t by choice I had no teacher. I wanted a teacher. Life just happened that way, but I always knew what I was in my heart. So at least one person touched my life and put me on the path I am on now, but they weren’t able to stick around. Because of my inability to study under an already established Order/Tradition I’m looked down upon and not taken seriously more often than not.

Now does this mean all established Orders/Traditions are bad? No. But the serious Elitist attitudes from some certainly turn me off from joining an established Order/Tradition later on. Rather it encourages me to form my own with the help of my sister and others. Additionally, just because I’ve had some seriously bad experiences with these people please don’t let it turn you off from joining one yourself if that’s your desire to do so or to Reconstructionists in general. We aren’t all bad, believe me.

A handfasting ceremony at Avebury in England, ...

A handfasting ceremony at Avebury in England, which occurred during Beltane in 2005 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now that I’ve gotten that out of my system let’s go over the good points of Orders/Traditions:

1. A sense of community to share in.

2. A place to learn and grow with others.

3. A place to share your life, Magick, beliefs with others.

4. A place for other like-minded individuals (ideally).

5. Having a place where you can learn from teachers (if the traditional route is ideal for you).

6. Group Rituals (I’ve done a few small ones. They can be fun.)

7. Ready access to a wealth of information and knowledge.

Amulet of Thor's hammer (Mjolnir) worn by a Sw...

Amulet of Thor’s hammer (Mjolnir). (Photo credit: Wikipedia) My comment: STOP! Hammah time! – or – callaborate and listen!

As for bad points, you already got two of the major ones (Elitist Attitudes in some, Sexism) but I’d like to cover just a couple more so you know what you’re getting yourself before you might consider the “plunge”:

3. Greed

4. Power-tripping

5. Ego

6. Corruption

7. Treat themselves as being the only ones with the “real” path or way of the religion.

Sadly you can find just about all these negative points in any group, order, tradition no matter what it may be. So please keep that in mind.

Despite my bad personal experiences with other Reconstructionists I do not let it change how I feel or what I believe and that is – if there are douchebags, there have to be some decent folk as well. Ones like me who try to be respectful of others and hear them out before making a poor judgement call, otherwise not only would I dishonor them I’d dishonor myself as well.

Would I love it if my path was the closest to the original? Hell yes, but I don’t feel it gives me the right to tell someone else they are wrong or “doing” it wrong. There’s no excuse, except a poor one when it comes to the bad points we covered. No matter how different we are or practice our beliefs, we should be able to stand “united” or find some “Common Ground” on somethings even if we don’t agree with one another on everything.

So what has been the plus sides to solitary study? I’ve eliminated the majority of the bad points we’ve established. I feel like I’ve learned far more on my own. I have no restrictions on incorporating what I’d like into my beliefs that feeds my soul. There’s no sense of any one person being better than another (obviously). There is just so much “Freedom” to allow yourself to grow the way you want to and are meant to.

Ritual

Ritual (Photo credit: Pewari)

I’d like to share a personal quote. I know similar has been said among my friends and Spirit Family, but heck if I can remember an original word for word for the life of me (unless it’s my own or something like that).

We all have a sliver or piece of the Universal Truth – but allowing our personal prejudices and ego “in” completely thwarts that understanding altogether. At that point, it’s no longer about the Spiritual aspect – it’s about status, recognition, power, corruption and other ego based concepts.

If you’d like to share your personal experiences with Orders, Traditions, or something else – good or bad, please do. I’d love to hear it and I’m certain there are others too. It really would be nice to get more feedback and info on this.

Until next time blogger fans, thank you for reading, happy holidays, and we’ll see you next time. Same Bat-time, same Bat-Channel.

~Bright blessings, infinite love and gratitude, Namaste~

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. helmsinepu
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 08:19:12

    At least the sexism doesn’t seem to be a huge issue in Kemetic groups. Though I do see beginner-bashing from some people.

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Jan 25, 2013 @ 15:07:50

      That is another thing I’ve never understood in some groups, the “Beginner Bashing”. We all started some where at one time or another so it is very uncalled for and illogical. If anything it should bring us a certain level of understanding and willingness to be compassionate toward others who we, were once, like before.

      I don’t understand it but I know it’s something dealing with the Ego and that’s all I care to know about it.

      • helmsinepu
        Jan 25, 2013 @ 15:11:22

        Big ego, and possibly getting tired of answering the same questions. But if you can’t be helpful, shut your trap and let someone else answer.

        • Lady Gwendolynn
          Jan 25, 2013 @ 15:13:33

          Exactly! I know some days I don’t feel overly helpful. When that happens I step back and let someone else answer, but I will not outright disrespect another just because they are a beginner. That’s just plain rude. I remember my roots.

  2. Trackback: Reconstruction? Revival? Reform? Really? Are you HIP? | Kemetic Reconnaissance

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

