Gun Control, Gun Control, GUN CONTROL! Your Favorite thing!

Caches of Tabuk 7.62 mm short assault rifles, ...

Caches of Tabuk 7.62 mm short assault rifles, Tabuk 7.62 mm assault rifles, and other rifles inventoried at the Iraqi Civil Defense (ICDC) armory in Al Shahabi, , during Operation IRAQI FREEDOM. Location: AL SHAHABI, AL ANBAR IRAQ (IRQ) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For those whose heads I went over, the title is sarcasm. Remember it’s just one of the many other services I offer. 😉

I said I wasn’t going to do another story until I was up for it. Well apparently after watching Ferris Buellers Day Off (which I hadn’t seen until this morning) and eating some good food with Hot Chocolate, my mind was feeling pretty good. Good enough to try to coherently write something. Yay! Now I already wrote something some months back when the Aurora, CO Theater shooting happened. Now we’ve had another tragic incident and I can’t help but feel that perhaps the shooter of the Connecticut shooting got some ideas from the Shooter from the Aurora, CO shooting that helped to set some wheels in motion. I won’t say he’s the sole reason – but I wouldn’t be surprised if he helped to influence.

Some people are calling for stricter gun control laws. Some of course want Guns banned altogether. There are some good points such as – the people who are severely at risk for doing something stupid or are having some severe emotional disconnection or issues and have to take medication or see a doctor regularly should not be in control of assault rifles or any other kind of firearm. Why Assault Rifles are legal to buy – um – I don’t know about you but I’m confused on that point. Unless you are starting your own militia or arming yourself for the Zombie Apocalypse there is no reason for an Assault Rifle.

Lego Zombie Apocalypse at Brickcon 2009

Lego Zombie Apocalypse at Brickcon 2009 (Photo credit: SquidgeyFlint)

Now, while I brought up the point that, yes, if there is someone who has a mental disorder perhaps they should not possess firearms, there are those who are capable of handling and keeping a firearm responsibly. Veterans like my brother who suffer only from some minor PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) should not be denied. Why? Because I spend enough time to know he’s NOT off his rocker and he has seen a therapist in the past to deal and combat the PTSD. However, PTSD is not the same as Paranoid-Schizophrenia. Depending, again, on how severe the case is – weapons are best NOT left in their reach or accessible to them.

Soldier Cleaning an SA80 Assault Rifle

Soldier Cleaning an SA80 Assault Rifle (Photo credit: Defence Images)

I have a friend who lives with one of these individuals and he has to hide his kitchen knives. It sucks. He hates to do it but there’s not much he can do about it given current conditions. Unless those conditions change, he has to keep hiding any weapons or items that can be deemed as weapons or harmful to his roommates health, others or his own. Overall, we shouldn’t deny an individual their right to “Bear arms” if they want to and are capable, mentally, of doing so.

Bunraku (film)

Bunraku (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m also going to emphasis, again, the point of doing away with guns altogether. If we got rid of guns, do you realize what the most likely scenario would be? People would find other weapons to use to kill each other. People would not go without arms of some sort. Maybe they’d resort back to swords, axes and other medieval arms like in Bunraku (beautiful movie, very stylistic and pretty good). Gang members won’t give up their guns if law-abiding citizens do. That’s just foolish to believe such nonsense and it’s unrealistic. No; if law-abiding citizens had to lay down their guns, Gang members would hang on to theirs more tightly than before. While I don’t like to envision a negative, bleak or dark future – I don’t see good things if that were to happen.

I feel the best thing we can do is – as good law-abiding citizens, if you don’t feel safe – arm yourselves. Learn to shoot a gun by going to a range and practicing. Learn a martial art/self-defense, something! Guns are not truly the problem, they never have. It’s people. It’s stupid people who make poor decisions as they squeeze the trigger who don’t comprehend all the consequences that go behind squeezing that trigger in the first place. Especially when they open fire on innocent civilians who are just bystanders that have nothing to do with their deals, problems or otherwise. People who don’t think before they “squeeze” that trigger make a declaration that “Life” is not precious to them – but perfectly worth wasting.

If you couldn’t tell, I’m not big on gangs, drug lords or other forms of criminal activity of this nature. There has been so much violence, crimes, bloodshed and death in the past few years I find it just depressing. I want to see it get better. I want to see us heal as a Nation and rise up with confidence. To not walk out our doors in fear of our lives or that our homes will be vandalized or burglarized, but that everything will be as it should when we return to them. That our loved ones will make it home and we can ask, “How was your day?“.

Wilson House (Aurora, Colorado)

Wilson House (Aurora, Colorado) (Photo credit: Jeffrey Beall)

So that is where I stand on gun-control if you didn’t know before. I am a proud owner of a firearm – for home defense and self-defense. It is dedicated to protecting my home, friends, family, loved ones and myself. Nothing more and nothing less. You don’t like it – too bad. You don’t have to like it, but I won’t be giving up my gun for anyone or anything because it does grant me some peace of mind, confidence and puts a small spring in my step when I go out the door knowing that I have it. Plus, kind of funny to put signs up on your house or something that say, “House protected by gun three days out of the week. Want to guess which three?

PICT1639 Rawr

PICT1639 Rawr (Photo credit: TimberWolf_qx)

I think this counts as a rant today folks. Wasn’t my intention but I get pretty, “RAWR” about important things like these that people tend to get very strong “Tunnel Vision“. Just remember, there is more than one side to every story. If you only see your side, you aren’t seeing the full picture. Only a piece. Doesn’t mean your wrong but – it also means you don’t completely understand either and you won’t until you are willing to let go and SEE the bigger picture.

Thanks for reading. Comments, questions or musings of your own, feel free to add to the discussion or share your own thoughts and feelings on it. Don’t forget you can also suggest topics for me to write about. Just leave a comment on the story you’ve read with the suggestion and I’ll get back to you on it. 🙂

~Infinite love, gratitude, blessings and more be yours, may you have a beautiful day – Namaste~ _/\_

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KDawg
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 07:56:49

    Darn it! As much as I have wanted to post something about gun control I have restrained myself. I could write a freaking novel on the subject. I agree with your points here. First off, the Constitution allows the ownership of firearms. Some would say, “Sure, but the Constitution was written well before the problems we have today.” That is true, but people are still people and they have the right to defend themselves. That is nothing new.

    I don’t really think it’s feasable to outlaw the ownership of guns. I believe that maybe the laws should be adjusted to provide for better background and emotional screening when someone attempts to purchase a gun, but again, it’s pretty difficult to determine from a background or emotional check if someone is going to snap at any given time in the future.

    I know myself pretty well…at least I hope so, anyway. I’m not a model of psychological perfection but I am not the type to go off half-cocked and open fire on anything, animal or human. I do know this much about myself, though – if my ex-wife or I owned a firearm when we were married, one or both of us probably wouldn’t have made it out of that marriage alive. That is why I never bought a gun when I was married to her because I knew something was going to end badly even though we lived in a dangerous neighborhood at the time.

    It kind of boils down to people having respect and tolerance for one another and understanding the meaning of how great it is that we exist. People need to understand that we are all brothers and sisters and we all have a right to be here and share this planet. Unfortunately, we don’t respect our planet, we don’t respect each other and a lot of people don’t even respect themselves.

    Cheers!

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Jan 15, 2013 @ 09:37:10

      I feel ya home Dawg! (like what I did there? 😉 ) It really is difficult to tell what will push people over the edge. Predictability when it comes to people and how they will handle things is not easy. So even if someone does seem fine, normal and sane one moment – something intensely traumatic could snap them out of it and into a cold blooded killer the next. Maybe even a “Crime of Passion”. Who knows.

      Also don’t feel bad. I really wanted to “avoid” another Gun-control topic, but because of the stupid things people have been doing or saying, I just gotta make my peace and make it LOUD and CLEAR.

      I agree with your last points. One thing I failed to mention is the fact I think it would help if people had more appreciation for “Life”. I think that is something our society is most definitely missing. It’s just not really taught much these days anymore. The value of human “Life” in general. It might help immensely. Who knows unless we try to make some positive changes in our world and in our lives.

  2. James Bell
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 09:29:06

    I agree with you on this, and in fact for anyone who has seen Dark Knight Rises the southern part of Gotham was renamed from Tricorner (which it has always been called) to “Sandy Hook” prior to the theatrical release and is even featured – and highlighted as “strike zone” – on a map that was sent out to fans and press ahead of the film.

    Interestingly “Aurora” is also in the film as part of a skyline shot of Gotham city, it was background noise before the theatre shooting and now nobody can watch the film without noticing the giant glowing neon sign that reads “Aurora”.

    Coincidence? To quote Commissioner Gordon from The Dark Knight Rises: “You’re a detective now son, you’re not allowed to believe in coincidence anymore.”

    Here are the specific screen shots from the film: http://gothamist.com/2012/12/18/sandy_hook_labeled_strike_zone_in_d.php

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Jan 15, 2013 @ 09:49:14

      I didn’t even realize that. That is very strange, odd, weird, strangely cool and also disturbing all at once. Sadly the guy in the video that’s connected to the article sounds like a conspiracy nut and thinks Hollywood is in on it. Course that could lead us back to the argument that “The Catcher and the Rye” really did tell Mark Chapman to shoot John Lennon – but I think we can leave that one alone.

      Thank you for sharing that James. Much appreciated. 🙂

      • James Bell
        Jan 15, 2013 @ 11:11:19

        Course that could lead us back to the argument that “The Catcher and the Rye” really did tell Mark Chapman to shoot John Lennon – but I think we can leave that one alone.

        Gwen, odd that you would say that.. We had our monthly meeting in Olympia for LORE (League of Occult Research & Education) where we discussed this conspiracy and The Catcher in the Rye and John Lennon connection came up there as well.. LORE is about half pagans so maybe Oly pagans all think alike or something, LOL

        BTW there was about 15 of us and after watching the film clips and looking over the ‘evidence’ we deduced that Sandy Hook seemed like a copy cat incident – but for whatever reason that is not being discussed – with a remote possibility that it is directly related to the coincidence of Sandy Hook being in the Dark Knight film (also none of the pop culture artifacts of the alleged shooter are being discussed), either that or the fact that author Susan Collins lives down the street from the alleged shooter in Sandy Hook possibly influenced him as well…

        The world famous author of The Hunger Games – a book about one kid killing 22 kids for sport that got made into a Hollywood blockbuster – who lives in Sandy Hook just might impact one’s thought process if they’re unstable to begin with, but the media has quietly not mentioned that as potential influence since it’s also just ‘coincidence’.. The NRA sure did bring it up as influencing school shootings when they referred to “violent films”, but didn’t mention that the author of the Hunger Games lived down the street from the alleged shooter.. http://www.examiner.com/article/hunger-games-not-mentioned-sandy-hook-elementary-school-shooting

        • Lady Gwendolynn
          Jan 15, 2013 @ 12:35:55

          Huh, I don’t know about the Pagans of Oly all thinking the same. I do think it’s interesting sometimes to entertain such discussions, the potential and probability of certain theories. And yay for supporting evidence! I always love good supporting evidence. 😀 I’m surprised I haven’t heard of this group yet. Then again, I’m terrible about being in the loop and I’m just trying to drag out all the Shelton Pagans into the sunlight too right now. That’s a little difficult I’m finding.

          Oly is a bit of a drive for me. I could actually believe Sandy Hook was a copy-cat incident, it does come off that way and kind of just “feel” that way as well. Like it semi-reeks of it. Another good point about the Hunger Games Books and the Author. W-ow! I didn’t realize she lived in the area. I’m not a big fan of the books (haven’t read them yet), I saw the movie with a friend though. It is surprising the media didn’t “pounce” on her novels as well as being a contributing factor aside from the NRA.

          You know for as much good the NRA is trying to do, they are starting to get some serious “Tunnel Vision” about their goal of protecting their right to “Bear arms”. It’s starting to bother me because not all of them actually have experience to back-up some of their claims (Videogame violence leading to violent behavior, desensitization, etc- movies, other media). If they aren’t careful it’s eventually going to bite them in the rears! :/

  3. Bearitt Ferrier
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 19:08:39

    OK, I am guilty and going to do a slight rant here. Forgive me Gwen.

    Now this whole ban assault weapons/rifles thing is really getting on my nerves. Last I checked, assault rifles are not legal to own. I know, using wikipedia as a reference kind of sucks but it defines as follows: “An assault rifle is a selective fire (selectable among either fully automatic, burst-capable, or, sometimes, semi-automatic modes of operation) rifle that uses an intermediate cartridge and a detachable magazine.” Some examples of an assault rifle are an AK47 and an M16. These are weapons used in the military. This ban on “assault weapons,” on the other hand, seems to be directed primary at weapons based upon their look and not their function. Then there is also the call about banning Semi-Automatic weapons. Most weapons are semi-automatic. All this means is when you pull the trigger, it will fire the round, eject the casing, and load a new round. /rant

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Jan 16, 2013 @ 02:47:11

      See! And that’s what I thought too Bear! I could have sworn assault rifles were not legal to own! I’m glad I was right about that. I don’t think there should be a ban on Semi-automatics though. That’s my current gun that I have. I’ll fight to keep it if I have to.

      • James
        Jan 16, 2013 @ 04:05:43

        I could have sworn assault rifles were not legal to own! I’m glad I was right about that.

        In this video the AK model costs around $900 used, it has a 100 round drum, you can purchase both at most gun shops (not now as they’re all sold out.) Large drums are prone to jamming so law enforcement doesn’t really use them, survivalist types don’t use them for that reason and because they’re a lot of dead weight, if you’re on the run and your 30 round mag jams you can ditch it and swap in a new one fast.. so the criticism is that the only purpose the 100 round drums serve is for yahoos to do stuff like in FPS video games.

        I’ve never fired a 100 round clip IRL, but have played tabletop RPG games and online FPS games and prefer a high caliber rifle versus the spray and pray assault rifle strategy. In real life gun safety class my instructor explained that your handgun is really there to buy you time to run and get to your rifle, at which point you have a better chance of dealing with multiple intruders at a further range.

        Handguns are really only good from point blank up to 7 meters, so for a very rough Middle Ages comparison they’re like swords, shotguns are like spears or throwing axes, and rifles are your bows. Assault rifles are like crossbows, in that they require less skill to become proficient than years of accuracy training. In the Middle Ages there are instances of peasants being banned from owning crossbows, etc. for similar reasons as banning assault rifles today – they’re weapons for waging insurgency, like written about in the progressive literature published by AK Press or by the indigenous peasant women armed with AKs in Chiapas, Mexico fighting a corrupt regime…

        In the case of the peasants of the Middle Ages if taxes were unbearable, or their town was being looted by the corrupt police employed by the count, they could muster a force faster with crossbows. This theory plays out in the RPG sims I’ve seen that account for skill and weapon mastery. A well armed peasantry with crossbows fighting guerrilla style is a nightmare for a deployment of armored knights on horse. This same strategy seemed to work for Subcomandante Marcos in arming the EZLN, when they ran out of AKs they made wooden replicas..

  4. Acanous
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 03:41:50

    The counterpoint to this, of course, is that the right to bear arms is supposed to be a constitutional right of every american, same as freedom of speech and religeon.
    I personally think that the founding fathers put it there *Just* because if a government really wanted to crack down and restrict one of the freedoms, they’d HAVE to start with the right to bear arms- otherwise there could be an armed revolt.

    As far as assault rifle bans go, well, if you believe in your right to protect yourself and fight for your beliefs (Primarilly against the government, which is why the right exists in the first place), then saying “Oh, but you can only have a knife while the government gets to use A-10 warthogs” pretty much falsifies the right entirely.

    Society, however, cannot function in anarchy, and while the dream was to have a civilization actively supported, protected, and endorsed by a population of free thinking individuals with a strong love of patriotism, that really fell far from the ideal.

    At any rate, the idea that everyone owning a weapon allows individuals more control over their lives is a fallacy. The only thing it DOES allow is for unhinged individuals to take the lives of more stable, sane people. Lots of them. Because Automatic Rifles.

    Fact of the matter is, you don’t give guns to children, teachers don’t take them to schools, and you’re unlikely to be packing one around inside a supermarket, shopping mall, or movie theater. Stable individuals keep their guns locked in protective cases, vaults, or gun racks when not in use. Meaning you’re likely to have one in your home or your car, in case of a residential break-in or severe road rage.

    But that’s not when you’re going to be shot at. You’re going to be shot at by crazies in situations which give them the highest target saturation- which are also the same situations you’re not going to be lugging your gun around in.

    So really, if you want to be safe, it’s a two step process- you need a gun, and you need the crazies to not have a gun.
    Restricting the crazies, though, is unconstitutional.

    So if you really want a gun and safety, apply for a license up in Canada, then move there :p

    …Speaking of: Gwen! You so bad not telling me you got back safe :p

  5. KDawg
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 11:30:45

    Good points, good banter here from everyone. I’ve learned a lot from all of you! Thanks! Gwen, I’m about to link back to your blog for the Hendrix quote in my next post. You, lady, are a wonderful writer and your posts have soul. I hope you’re felling better! And I kinda like “home Dawg”!

  6. KDawg
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 12:13:48

    Sorry for all the mispellings in that last comment…been a long day, was at the airport at 4:30am in Boston and I need some serious sleep. Some food would be nice, too.

  7. James
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 14:08:18

    Unless you are starting your own militia or arming yourself for the Zombie Apocalypse there is no reason for an Assault Rifle.

    Adding a bit more to the banter.. Here are a couple more things I’ve learned on this issue from other recent discussions and reading the current gun control laws. Current federal gun control prohibits a woman under 21 from purchasing, owning, carrying or firing a handgun. However that same young woman (or man for that matter) can purchase for protection a defensive rifle, i.e. a rifle made for combat not hunting, also called an ‘assault rifle’.

    Banning ‘assault rifles’ means that young women in America will be extremely limited in their choice of firearms for self defense, leaving them only with ‘long guns’ like a hunting rifle that fires a single shot. Women and men taking a self defense class are shocked to learn that rapists specifically target urban women under 21 because the government has disarmed them of their handguns and their urban city codes have limited or disarmed them from carrying any sort of rifle outside of a transport container.

    Citizens who are felons – like from being arrested and convicted for trespassing on federal property at a political protest, or convicted of some trumped up charge back in the 70’s just for being an African American youth, or getting slugged with PTSD like just about every returning veteran is automatically being diagnosed (some against their wishes) – can never purchase, carry, discharge or own a gun for the rest of their life.

    However a corrupt bankster or any white collar criminal that has committed a felony does not lose that right (white collar felons were excluded from the ’68 gun control laws that banned felons and mentally ill from owning guns). Many on the left and right think the ’68 gun control law that put this all into place was done so to thwart the growing armed militant left movements of the 60’s, Black Panther Party and Malcolm X, American Indian Movement, Weather Underground, etc. by using the hysteria of the ‘white suburbs’ towards what the media branded as ‘race riots’ to get the first modern gun control law passed.

    I believe – as does Columbine filmmaker Michael Moore and the former Homeland Security Secretary Tom Ridge – along with many prominent medical professionals that Big Pharma and antidepressant withdrawal (combined in the US with federal and state cuts to help the mentally ill afford to stay on these SSRI drugs) is behind all the mass shooting incidents globally.

    I know it sounds trite in the wake of the Sandy Hook shooting, but others are also correct in pointing out that certain themes in first person shooter (FPS) games play a bigger influential role than is being discussed in the wake of these incidents, acting as a possible ‘trigger’. The shooter in Norway who killed the 92 kids at the camp confessed to being influenced to do it after playing over and over again Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (he called it training for him to kill civilians).

    This video game is the second most popular game ever sold at the time, selling millions upon millions of copies in only hours of its release. Globally millions of kids and adults play it every day. I’m a gamer so I’m not saying at all ban any game, just add a little industry self regulation like they already do with sexual themes. Maybe it’s just me and I’m reading too much into it and it’s a stretch to think that in some remote way such a game might have an impact on an unstable person taking antidepressants and experiencing withdrawal – anyway watch the two minute start of this game and see if there might be something to this critique and the confession of the Norway shooter?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

