You Want the Truth?! You Can’t HANDLE the Truth!

English: The Priestess

English: The Priestess (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So a discussion with my S.O. (significant other) reminded me of this topic I wanted to write a few weeks ago. I initially wasn’t feeling up for writing today/yesterday, but had a change of heart as soon as I remembered this, feeling it was far more important to write than to not write at all. As a Priestess there are situations I encounter I’m uncertain of how to resolve or solve. When I run into a situation like this I try to consult with friends, because I don’t know many other Priests or Priestesses I want, can and have access to talk to – not to mention trust. Believe it or not – I don’t feel I can talk and or trust every Priest or Priestess I meet, neither should you unless you get a good vibe.

Often times these experiences I have come to me through personal growth-life lessons. I don’t always know what “Pearl of Wisdom” I am meant to gleam from the situation, but I typically hope the right choice I eventually do make will result in the da-dah-da-DAAAHHH! prize (the wisdom, 😛 ). Not only will I be able to use this information for myself, but more often than not – what I have learned can help heal or benefit others in some way shape or form. Which is exactly what I use it for with anonymity established out of respect, of course.

Now, some of you out there may be asking, “Alright Gweny, I follow you. Though I’m confused about where the title of the article comes into this.” and we’re getting to that – now. The situation I was discussing with my S.O. had to do with someone who said and at times demanded to be told the Truth – always. This also meant the Blunt, honest to God/dess, Ugly Truth. Overall, I admit I’m a pretty honest person. I may omit things for typically a very good reason. It’s something, I think, most honest and good people do too. I don’t sugar-coat but I try to be honest in a way that is compassionate, understanding and will be accepted and understood – or close enough. If not, maybe they aren’t meant to learn that lesson from me. No biggy.

But when it comes to the “Blunt, honest to the God/dess, Ugly Truth” you gotta say, “Okay, let me have it,” or something to that extent. I’m one of those people I have to know you’re ready for what you are receiving. I don’t go out of my way to catch you when your pants are down. It’s like the, having a battle of wits with an unarmed man (or woman). Are you really going to do the dishonorable thing and tear them down, humiliate them utterly and completely? Or will you give them a fighting chance? I don’t know about you – but I’d pick the fighting chance every time. It’s only right, fair, honorable and the respectable thing to do.

However, speaking my truth has not always been an easy thing for me (only in recent years has it become easier though). It’s easier when I’m asked to speak it, especially the ugly side of it. Anyone who has asked, I have kindly obliged even despite personal worries, doubts and fears about hurting their feelings, because they were prepared in their hearts, minds and even egos – at least that’s how I felt. So when this person asked me to do this and expected I’d be all “No Mind to Mouth Filter: On; gloves are off at all times!” that’s just not me. That goes against my general nature…unless I’m P.O.ed then I might chew you out. When this didn’t happen though, I got lectured for not being completely honest when I told them from the start, “You must ask me for it“. I wasn’t ready for having that level of my bluntness of honesty as a constant in my life.

I might be now. I have no idea. I just know it’s a work in progress. Everyone is different. Everything in its own divine time and place, after all.

So today’s blog poses a question to you, the reader. When someone says, “I want the truth!” and they are quite literally demanding it, should you give it? Would you give it? I know some people say they can handle it, but some absolutely cannot because they are like a “Glass Cannon“. Powerful but can break down easily when treated poorly or abused. I honestly feel not everyone can handle the truth, but that also depends on a simple factor – what stage are they in their personal experience to accept and handle the truth one has to give? To me that falls to the, “Did they ask?” because if they ask you know they might be ready.

It’s like Help. We shouldn’t give it unless asked, because some people don’t want help and some people can’t be helped because they have to help themselves first. They also have to want to help themselves. While some people might demand the truth and be able to handle it well, others will hear you when they ask for it – but not actually hear you and will keep making the same mistakes they have been until they learn their lesson. Or they could simply blow up in your face and try to find a scapegoat to blame other than themselves, namely you for trying to help in the first place or otherwise. Which happens far too often.

What say you though? What are your thoughts on this? What might you do? Are you someone who could have abided such a request as a, “I take it at face-value cause they said…I’m just giving them what they want. In my story, admittedly, it may have been what they needed, I did not feel I’d be heard because we were already experiencing some “listening & comprehension” problems – so I feel it’s not really what they wanted. Hence the Selective Hearing. So if you say you want something, be sure that it truly is otherwise you may get exactly what you want and you may not like it (much like the Djinn and the wishes), because you may have expected a different result. Sadly, Expectation is a subject for another time. 😉

Thank you for reading and contributing your thoughts to this blog. I really and truly appreciate it. Be sure to leave your comment with your thoughts on the question (s) I asked and if you have an idea (s) for a topic you’d like me to discuss for later – include that in your comment or just make a new one (comment) for the suggestion.

~Bright blessings, good fortune and more be yours – Namaste~

P.S. There aren’t a lot of pictures breaking up the text like usual because I’m trying something new. I’ve noticed most freshly pressed blogs either don’t have a lot of pics, use pics they took or personal artwork. I don’t always have that last two luxuries. I also want to know what you guys think. Does it still work okay for you with how I try to break-up the paragraphs? Or do you like your extra pics breaking up the text? Let me know!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Savvy Senorita
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 04:14:38

    Hello Lady Gwendolynn,
    Let me begin by saying thank you for including two of my articles as part of your work; I am all gratitude!
    My opinion on honesty; well, apart from what my articles state here is some of my thoughts on the topic.
    Only you can decide when to be honest, and with whom.
    No-one can force you to admit or provide the truth.
    I agree with you that people need to be ready to receive the truth – people often think they are, but rarely is this the truth!!!!
    I think perhaps we deceive ourselves, and others, so much (in subtle ways as well as gigantic fibs), that drilling down to the real truth is often scary and no longer available!
    I think there is also a difference between being cruel (nasty, spiteful and derogatory) and the truth – truth is often well meant unless we are provoked into retaliation!
    Yet, being honest is a good thing and I do prize it. However, what doses are required I am still uncertain!
    Thanks again, Bex 🙂

    • Lady Gwendolynn
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 04:37:56

      You’re very welcome and thank you so much for stopping by! 😀 I included both because they were very relevant to the subject at hand and were pretty thorough. Worthy as references material!
      I definitely agree with your comment too.

      • The Savvy Senorita
        Jan 22, 2013 @ 04:49:39

        No problem, I was intrigued. I like your post very much, interesting how the topic has been encapsulated.
        Why thank you (blushing), that is lovely of you, very kind indeed.
        Thanks again, and hope to hear more from you!
        Bex 🙂

  2. svartulfthorirsson
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 17:58:43

    Great article Acushla. I was honoured by your mention, and even more so that you considered our conversation. I believe in you.

  3. svartulfthorirsson
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 00:28:36

    Getting back to this article, I’m going to have to agree with the Savvy Senorita. Nice name by the way Savvy. 🙂 Only you can decide who can handle your honesty Acushla, I think for those that can’t handle the truth its best to walk away from them before an argument ensues. Truth is one of the noble virtues of Heathenism but there are times it’s best to either be brutally honest or just keep your mouth silent and observe how others handle it.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

