Deities & Religious Theory – Fiction vs. Our Perceived Reality

WARNING!

This is a religious discussion/debate. If you’ve never been to my blog before KNOW that I write about ANYTHING and EVERYTHING that comes to my mind and nothing is OFF limits. This includes RELIGION. Please be polite, respectful and understanding when engaging others or myself as I will do the same. You MAY or MAY NOT like what is said, you may NOT agree with it, but at least hear/read me out and try to see my point (and others) from an objective view. I am NOT trying to DIRECTLY attack you or YOUR Religion. It’s nothing personal! Thank you.

English: Greek marble relief c. 300 BC depicti...

English: Greek marble relief c. 300 BC depicting a pious family offering a ram to two deities dining at a table in a temple. The male deity is presumed to be a deified hero, as the head of the horse in the background was a symbol of heroization. From the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek collection, item number IN 1594. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello dear readers and welcome back to my blog (those who are return visitors) and welcome to those who are just finding their way here! New and Old visitors are very much-loved and appreciated all the same. Again I will be discussing a controversial topic dealing with Religion. For those Science Nerds-Geeks out there, I will be touching base possibly on “String Theory” also known as “Parallel Universes” or “Multiple Dimensions” for those less savvy.

On a Skype Call this evening with my man, we were discussing my Book I finished (Working Title; Charlie Bravo, for those who don’t know) and I was discussing the Deities within the book that are made mention of. I was also speaking on Religious Theory. The way the theory works is this:

Just like we have Deities in our world. I know there are some people out there who even worship some, what we consider, fictional deities from various pieces of literature. However, who’s to say those Deities are any less real than what we have already established? Especially if you believe in past-lives. If a person remembered a Deity they used to worship in another life and wanted to worship them here, they could but – there would be some fine line differences of power and influence, among other things.

Not what I said verbatim but pretty close because I had to axe the parts he interjected too, because at the earlier part of the conversation he was arguing against. Which is fine – but before you take a side and decide I’m silly…well – we already knew THAT one – OR crazy…all the best people are crazy as the 2010 Alice in Wonderland put it – just hear me out and how I explain ALL this.

There are many questions when it comes to Deities and how they interact with us, are a part of our lives and how they influence us or WE even possibly influence them. It seems complicated and not to mention very intricate and crazy in of itself, trying to fathom all the intricacies of it all. So come and allow your mind to play around with some theories with me.

English: Idols of Indian deities

English: Idols of Indian deities (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

1) Where do Deities get their power?

Some would argue Deity is Power and Power is Deity. An unseen force meant to be feared or revered. Yet there are people, like me, out there who believe that a Deities influence or power may very well be in direct proportion to possibly say – how many followers they have. How many people BELIEVE in them. More importantly – how strong and unshakeable are those followers FAITH in them? Belief and Faith to me are two very different things.

They are similar in some respects but there’s a fine-line difference that often gets blurred because of their similarities, yet still one holds far more truer and firmer than the other when it comes to being tested. The way I see it, Beliefs can be swayed, changed and shook – and while Faith can be tested and shook as well, it often stands up to far more abuse than Belief does. Which brings me to a quote one of my friends shared with me long ago that I use today even still:

Banality is stronger than Belief, yet Faith is stronger still.

If that makes sense to you, awesome! If not – ask me in the comments and I’ll try to re-explain. I want to keep snowplowing ahead though with this, if you don’t mind.

the gundestrup cauldron

the gundestrup cauldron (Photo credit: mararie)

2) Deities can only effect a plane of existence/alternate dimension if it is within their Sphere of Influence.

Again, theoretically, if a Deity of any kind has influence anywhere, it is where they have established themselves. If a Deity wants to establish themselves in a new Dimension or Plane of Existence the only way to do that would be to find a way to get a foothold with at least one follower. Once they have a follower the follower can try to spread their beliefs, if no one thinks they are absolutely bat-excrement crazy, to grow their following which would, in-turn, empower the Deity.

Deities of Fiction:

As I was trying to explain to my S.O., if you are someone who believes in Past-lives, Multiple Dimensions, Alternate realities (String Theory) then in THEORY someone of our plane of existence could worship a Deity considered Fictitious. While many other people may think those individuals would be crazy for taking on such a venture of Faith it technically, by all accounts, is possible if you follow my theory.

Whose to say that all manner of Fiction or even Role-playing Books (which in their own right are Fiction but have SOME commendable and serious research put into them) are not gateways or doorways to another world unto themselves? Which from a Fictitious standpoint we say, “Why yes they are doorways to another world – but they aren’t real!” again, whose to say they aren’t? Only those who are not open to the possibility can, will and would say such a thing.

Note: I’d think it’d be pretty interesting and crazy if they were writing books about OUR plane of existence and thought of IT as Fictitious to them and their sense of reality is well – REALITY to them! Whatever that form of reality might be. I’m talking about these worlds we consider “Fictitious” mind you.

So if you take my first two theories, you put them together with this third introduction of my idea, you get this…

English: ETRUSCAN MARINE DEITY Français : Dées...

English: ETRUSCAN MARINE DEITY Français : Déesse de la mer étrusque (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

3) Deities of, what we consider in our Universe to be Fictitious works of literature or otherwise, cannot have sway unless they have established a Sphere of Influence by finding followers to believe in them and perpetuate their Gospel or Word of said Deity. Only then can they begin to have any sway or affect in THIS reality.

Is it true? I don’t know – but I’m open to various possibilities – this is one of them. I think it’s interesting to ponder, muse over and think about. It can and has led me on multiple tangents on various subjects. It’s also great for debate as far as topics are concerned.

After all, when it comes right down to it – who or what came first? The Deity? Or Man? I’d venture a conjecture that all Deities are “Man-made“, in theory, but also very real because of our Belief, Faith and – because there is a BIG driving force out there. It’s a force we cannot explain, describe but many of us know that it exists. Some of us can feel it in the very core of our beings. Just giving it an identity we can relate to helps some, but that’s a story for another day (or possibly has been done already)!

Christianity

Christianity (Photo credit: yonghokim)

What say you? What are your thoughts, feelings or ideas on this? I look forward to seeing some good answers, questions, theories, etc!

Thank you for reading and I hope some of you will return again in the future! Comments, questions or have an idea for a new topic you’d like me to possibly write about? Be sure to leave it as a reply in the comment section. Thank you!

~Merry part, Merry meet again, blessings – Namaste~

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dither001
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 07:55:20

    “Banality is stronger than Belief, yet Faith is stronger still.”

    Games address these concepts in a couple of different ways. The games by White Wolf Publishing in particular tend to depict “banality” (in the Changeling setting) as an oppressive force that diminishes the supernatural abilities of the fey.

    Compare this to the force of “paradox” from the Mage setting which is the result of unconscious “consensus” of mortals to impose their will on the world. Mages who use magic too conspicuously suffer “paradox backlash.”

    In any case, the idea of “believer versus apostate” runs strong in roleplaying games. It’s interesting subject of study. 🙂

    –Dither

  2. TammyeHoney
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 05:17:04

    Very interesting blog…thank you for the ping back

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

