Good Ole Fashion Hospitality

So – I know I haven’t updated since last month. The plan was to actually be, ideally, editing THIS month. However, something came up. Rather – company came over and they stayed with us for a while and I had some personal stuff come up as well. I didn’t want to be a bad hostess so that’s where most of my time had been devoted. Course my guest, was nice enough to remind me I don’t need to worry about them too much, that I don’t need to be here for their every whim. Sometimes it’s easy to get lost and caught up in the idea though that you need to be a good host.

Which is the basis of what this post is all about. Hospitality in the home. So – perfect segue!

One thing I’ve noticed that you can’t take for granted is Hospitality no matter where it is. In your home, in other people’s home in a hotel, whatever. Though, some people do and quite frankly I think it should turn around and bite them in the rears. Most people though have their own written or unwritten rules of what Hospitality toward guests should be like, what the guest is allowed to do and what you should do to accommodate their needs, if that.

However, as I’ve noticed, I don’t know if this is just an American thing or not but most people’s houses I’ve been to – they don’t typically state, “Help yourself to whatever you like,” or otherwise. Typically a good host, if they know they are going to have company tries to prepare or if they don’t care what the guest eats and there is more than enough to go around, this would be an acceptable thing to say as well, the example I gave.

I’ve only ever been to one person’s house where they told me, “Help yourself to anything you like”. I swear I was about as excited as a kid on Christmas. Really. I swear at least my eyes lit-up like Christmas tree lights with excitement. This place was the same place that I felt the most at home as well, like I belonged and this was at a very good friend’s house. Point is though, I had never been told that before and it was a huge relief, because I’ve done – probably some silly things just because – as a guest I was not informed about what I “Could” and “Could not” do.

So – if you are having guests over – you should give them the low-down about what they can and cannot do – or you could just tell them what they can do that’s okay with you. That will save everyone a headache and a half if your guest knows that they don’t have to starve themselves just because you had to leave for a while and they weren’t sure you’d get mad about them eating the last of the Spaghetti or something.

Your Home is your Castle, so what are the rules of your Castle? I know, now correct me if I’m wrong, in parts of Russia I was told that depending on how far you were allowed into someone’s home dictated how trusted you were by the homeowners. If you didn’t get past the door well – that means they didn’t trust you as far as they could throw you. The more rooms you got to see the greater the level of trust and respect for the guest. If you got the mini-tour than most likely you were very well trusted. Personally I rather love this concept.

What are you rules though for your Castle? Would you defend your guest even if they were unwanted company and a fight broke out that threatened their lives and possibly that of everyone? Or would you rather do nothing and let them die? Would you ensure their needs would be taken care of and met by someone? Or would you let them help themselves? Granted, you need to be careful with some of these things but – it’s something to think about. Personally, I’m a big fan of the Asatru way of Hospitality. Check it out sometime. 😉

So the next time you have a guest over, please remember this post and think about what it is that’s either appropriate or inappropriate in your household. Guests should respect the house rules of wherever they may be and if they are unwilling – you don’t have to let them in or you can kick them out, but help them feel welcomed by at least saying something! Thank you!

Thank you for stopping by and we hope to see you again!

If you have any ideas for future topics, questions, concerns or otherwise please use the comment section. 🙂

~Love, light and gratitude, Namaste~

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

