Sticks and Stones May Break My Bones – But Words Can STILL Be Hurtful

We all heard this rhyme when we were children, “Sticks and Stone may break my bones but words can never hurt me,” but what people don’t realize is that some words, when we are beaten day in and day out with them on a routine basis, can eventually take on the weight of those “Sticks and Stones” in a metaphorical sense. And these wounds can hurt for years and leave deep lasting marks far worse than any broken bone or scratch that may eventually become a scar. Recently a video was shared with me by a friend on this very thing. It says what I, essentially, wanted to rant about better than I feel I could to do it proper justice of how it affects others.

I was a victim of bullying myself from the time I was 6 till I was a Freshmen in High School. I also dealt with heavy and serious suicidal depression (don’t worry, wasn’t so bad I made attempts on my life or anything but I felt like I wanted to die, that was it) from 6-1/2 to 12 years of age and even after – the healing process was a continuous thing to mend the damage done especially by others who didn’t understand me, my home life situation or what had happened to me. Each of us have our own stories, scars, memories and other things we share. We don’t always have the same experiences but for each one of us out there our experiences affect us far differently than it will for someone else on the outside looking in.

So here it is, the video. I’m not going to lie – I almost cried watching this. I wanted to – but the tears wouldn’t come. This video deserves the well deserved tears of truth on all the points it hits home with. It’s worth your time and watching. When you finish watching, please share it with others you know who will appreciate it and may find some comfort in its truthfulness. I feel everyone should see this and this should even be on the Jumbotron in Time Square, but only if we were so lucky. Thank you.

Bullies Called Him Pork Chop

Thank you for reading and watching the video. Until next time, be well and lots of love!

~Light and Dark Blessings – Namaste~

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

