Daily Prompt: Life IS Pain Highness!

…Anyone who says differently is selling something.” – Westly dressed as “The Man in Black” or “Dread Pirate Roberts“.

While I had something different in mind for today’s post (as I have several topics awaiting in my Drafts Folder and The Shelton Oracle I should sorely update), I saw The Daily Posts posting of the day and it said, “Take a quote from your favorite movie — there’s the title of your post. Now, write!” Now I could have taken ANY number of quotes from the movie, as it is my all-time favorite – but this was the first that came to mind and lends for interesting discussion.

I already, honestly, wanted to take this quote and expand on it – so Daily Post gave me an excuse and motivation to do that today over anything else for my regular blog.

Consider the quote, sans the Highness comment, “Life is PAIN – anyone who says differently is selling something!“.

This quote seems very negative and even pessimistic. One could argue, “He’s just being a realist“. I hate to break it to you but I USED to be like this! So I know how negative, bleak and hopeless this outlook is. It’s like giving up the power to be a Co-Creator in your life by surrendering yourself and your personal power to the mercy of the world. That doesn’t sound like a lot of fun, does it? I sure don’t think it does.

It’s a thing of certainty that “Pain” does exist in our world – emotional, mental, physical. Just how we DEAL with that pain comes right down to US. What will we take from that experience of pain and how we use it in our lives is what counts. Do we use it to our advantage? Or do we succumb, give up and surrender to that pain believing nothing can be done or that we won’t or can’t do anything?

There is always something we can do to help ourselves when it comes to Pain. There is something more behind the pain we experience.

This quote, as I said, is rather negative and leaves out the possibility for anything else. Life is MORE than just Pain. Yes; we may occasionally hurt those we love and care about sometimes – whether intentionally or no, we do what we can then with the tools that we have, but again – life is more than just about Pain. It’s about Life, Love, Joy, Laughter, Community, togetherness, those we share our experiences with and so much more!

Yes; Life does have some Pain – but it’s not all that it is. However, that being said – there are some lessons that pain can only teach.

What do you think?

Thank you for reading and may you be blessed.

Comments, questions or got a topic suggestion? Find that reply button and lay it on me! 🙂

~Merry part and merry meet again – Namaste~

Related Articles

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cythereandreams
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 21:03:14

    I thought of this quote, too! How funny…did you know that in the book, it’s actually Buttercup’s dad who says this line?

  2. Trackback: Daily Prompt; Silver Screen | terry1954
  3. Trackback: IF YOU’RE A BIRD….I’M A BIRD | hastywords
  4. Trackback: May the force be with you – Daily Prompt – Silver Screen | Joe's Musings
  5. svartulfthorirsson
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 09:30:00

    “I find your lack of faith disturbing!”
    Darth Vader in Star Wars episode IV A New Beginning

  6. Trackback: Daily Prompt; Million-Dollar Question | terry1954
  7. Trackback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Tammye Honey – “Screen Chemistry” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

think4string

food recipe and technique enthusiast

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Mystara Tribune

Where the People Make the News

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Done This Before

"Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly."

The Savvy Senorita

Opinions, thoughts, politics, travel, fashion, ideas; whatever bugs or interests me gets posted!

Dr. Nicholas Jenner PsyD, MA

Psychologist, Online CBT Therapist, Author

Kitty Bloger

Just another site about cats

The Raging Fanboy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

